With the Spring Semester quickly approaching, Collegiate Rocket League (CRL) is revving its engine to return to the pitch for the CRL Spring Split! There's a lot to go over, so let's dive right into it.

CRL Fall Split Recap 

The Fall Split officially wrapped up last November with the CRL Fall Championship. Columbia College claimed the title of CRL Fall Champion, beating Northwood University in the Grand Finals. Both teams have now qualified for the CRL World Championship, which will take place later this year!

Over in Europe, the Technischen Universität Berlin (Berlin Phoenix) won the UniRocketeers Winter Finals, securing their invite to the CRL World Championship as well. Congratulations to our first three qualifiers: Columbia College, Northwood University, and Technischen Universität Berlin! 

CRL Spring Split Key Dates & Information

The CRL Spring Split will feature 32 teams, 16 from each North American Conference (Eastern and Western). The top eight teams from each Conference will advance to the CRL Spring Split Playoffs, and the top three teams from each CRL Conference Playoff will compete in the online CRL Spring Championship. Take a look at the key dates for the CRL Spring Split: 

  • January 15 and January 22: CRL Spring Split Open Qualifiers 

  • January 30 - March 3: CRL Spring Split League Play 

  • March 9 - 10: CRL Spring Split Playoffs 

  • March 11 - 12: CRL Spring Championship 

  • March 31 - April 2: CRL North American Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ)

Sign-ups for the CRL Spring Split Open Qualifiers are now live! Be sure to register your team ahead of January 12 for the first Qualifier, and January 19 for the second Qualifier.

Once 32 teams have qualified via both Qualifiers, we'll kick off CRL League Play broadcasts on the College Carball (CCA) and Rocket League Twitch channels. Check out the broadcast schedule below:


North American LCQ Details

If you're not in the CRL Spring Split, but still want to take your shot at becoming one of the 16 teams in the CRL World Championship, be sure to play in partner leagues that are listed below. They provide invites to the CRL North American Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ) for the CRL World Championship. 

The CRL LCQ is a 48-team, Single-Elimination Bracket that takes place from March 31 to April 2. Teams will be invited based on placement in the following events:

The top two teams from the LCQ will qualify for the CRL World Championship!

UniRocketeers Spring Key Dates & Information

European students, this one’s for you! UniRocketeers Spring (UR Spring) is a continuation of the UR Circuit that'll feature 40 teams competing to become one of the three teams from UR Spring who will qualify for the CRL World Championship. It'll run from February 22 through April 13 with a 10,000€ prize pool. Teams can earn a place in UR Spring by participating in the Open Qualifiers:

  • Open Qualifier #1: January 29 at 5 p.m. CET

  • Open Qualifier #2: February 2 at 7 p.m. CET

  • Open Qualifier #3: February 9 at 7 p.m. CET

  • Open Qualifier #4: February 12 at 5 p.m. CET

Teams that don't qualify for the CRL World Championship via UR Spring can compete in the UniRocketeers LCQ (UR LCQ) alongside up to eight teams from each of the UniRocketeers’ partnered National Leagues. The UR LCQ will feature up to 64 total teams and take place from April 15 to April 23. The top two teams from the UR LCQ will earn CRL World Championship invites. For a refresher on UR’s National Leagues from their Winter Season, check out this blog.

A full breakdown of the rules and tournament structure can be found here. To look for teammates and find out more information about the UR Circuit, make sure to join the UniRocketeers Discord.

More to Come!

We’re excited to kick off the second half of the CRL Season soon and we’ll have more details on the CRL World Championship in the coming weeks! Make sure you sign up if you haven’t already and get ready to rep your university. We'll see you out there on the pitch!